Nirvana: thoughts on my experiences in bands: Part 1

I began listening to rock and metal music when I was about fourteen, it was a revelation, like finding the dead sea scrolls ya know? it changed my life, especially bands like Metallica and Nirvana and going to bed every night looking up at their posters just made me wish I could be on stage at the Fillmore or CBGB’s rockin’ out.

At fifteen I got my very first electric guitar and it was never out of my hands, every day I practised and everyday I got better and still every night I would stare at the posters and dream and it would motivate me to keep going with it.

There is a youth club in our town that used to let us bring our instruments and just sit for a few hours and jam and that’s where a friend of mine heard me play “Welcome home(Sanitarium)” by Metallica, I’m pretty sure that was the moment that really solidified my place in a little death metal band called “Cronos” that he and a couple of other guy’s had decided to start, I had never been more excited for anything in my whole…I think seventeen years at that stage…I’m a bit hazy on the chronology, but what I was sure about was that we were going to be an awesome band and we were going to be famous and stuff and be revered and venerated for our efforts, oh the naivete of youth.

We actually did pretty good for a group of teenagers in a death metal band in Wexford at that time though, we gained somewhat of a following and even got through to the main competition of the “coca-cola blast beat” battle of the bands, and though we were a lone death metal band among a sea of Indy, Alternative and Pop Punk bands, we gave it our best shot; as you can probably infer from that last sentence we were knocked out in the first round but honestly, there was no bias, the other bands were just better…I’m not bitter I swear.

Cronos, as a reward for making it as far as we did in the competition, were allowed to record a song in a professional studio and the song we chose was “Black Harvest” the only song the band did that I had any creative input on, which I was and still am pretty happy about, it was a pretty ok experience, one of the guy’s dad’s drove us to some far end of Dublin where we discovered this Professional studio session was in some dude’s shed, dodgy enough, but during the recording of our singer the guy sent the rest of us to get him and ourselves McDonalds and when we came back he was fast asleep! (in his defence he couldn’t be blamed for being tired, he actually was running a professional studio and had been up the entire night before mixing songs), in the end the song turned out really good and I am very proud of the contribution I made.

Not long after this the band and I parted ways, A friend of mine had killed himself before the Blast Beat contest and it hit me pretty hard though I tried my best not show it, I held everything in but eventually it just began materialising in my personality, the guy’s could see this and were understandably worried and I imagine probably a bit fed up of the way I was acting, they made the right choice and I’m glad they did it when they did, I needed to sort myself out and they needed someone who could be a productive member of the band, I loved being in that band and sharing those experiences with those guys at that time and don’t regret anything, I’m the person I am now because of My past and to be honest I’m quite happy with who I am. Anyway, to finish up, the guys went on for awhile after and kept gathering followers but eventually split, the guy’s went their separate way’s but a couple of them stayed involved with music, Joey Ryan is now becoming a prominent acoustic act around the country and I believe Daniel Henderson became a DJ, though I’m not sure whether or not he still is…as for Kevin Freeny…I really don’t know, I must try and get back in touch with him…and me, I joined other bands and had other adventures but those stories are for another day, for now, bye bye and be excellent to each other!

Leave a Reply

